In 1906, the building that now houses the Cincinnati Fire Museum was home to Engine Company 45. The area around Engine 45 was densely populated and filled with large warehouses. As residents and buildings moved out of the area the need for fire protection shifted. In 1962, Engine Company 45 was decommissioned and the city began using the building for storage. In 1974, the building was added to the National Registry of Historic Places. Finally, the Court Street Fire Station was given new life when the Cincinnati Fire Museum took over the building.
The Court Street Fire Station was designed by Cincinnati architect Harry Hake. Hake designed many buildings for the Cincinnati Fire and Police Departments. The building featured a Renaissance Revival style with symmetrical design elements such as cornices, dentils, half columns, and stone bands. Two distinct facades make the fire station unique among other area fire stations.
Other notable buildings designed by Harry Hake include the Queen City Club and the Cincinnati Bell Building.